The founder of the Journal Tintin, Editions du Lombard, studios Belvision and agency Publiart

Youth and War

R

aymond Leblanc was born on May 22, 1915 in Longlier, near Neufchâteau, in the Belgian Ardennes.

As a young man, he began a career within the Civil Service as a Customs Inspector. The War in 1940-45, however, altered his destiny. As a reserve officer in 1942, he published his first work dedicated to the war, “Dés pipés – Journal d’un Chasseur Ardennais.” At the same time, he joined the Resistance.

In the days following World War II, Raymond Leblanc decided to go into business. He partnered with two friends who were as passionate about publishing as he was: André Sinave and

Debaty.

In December 1944, the three set up a small publishing house called “Yes.” The young company, which had only about ten contributors, settled in Brussels where it occupied three buildings at 55 rue du Lombard, near the famous Grand-Place. This address influenced the name of a new company established later, within the same building: “Les Éditions du Lombard.” Two periodicals originated from these first offices: the “Cœur” collection, subtitled “le roman d’amour du jeudi,” a weekly collection of complete love stories, and “Ciné-Sélection,” a cinematic news magazine.

raymond-leblanc-bureau
In his office

Raymond Leblanc speaks about it (2005 – FR) : Willy Vandersteen

The launch of the Tintin magazine

couv-tintin-1
Cover of the first issue of Journal Tintin, the 26th of september 1946

In 1945, Raymond Leblanc tried, with A. Sinave, A. Debaty and G. Lallemand, to persuade Hergé to create a periodical for young people, called “Tintin” magazine. Hergé agreed to it. Created in 1929 and already popularized by twelve albums published through Les éditions du Petit-Vingtième and then Casterman, the “little reporter” so became the headliner of a 12-page weekly comic strip magazine.

Hergé, artistic director, rounded out the team at “Tintin” magazine with three friends: Edgar P. Jacobs, Jacques Laudy and Paul Cuvelier. The four talented writers demonstrated tremendous energy.

As Hergé meticulously carried on the adventures of Tintin and Milou in “Prisoners of the Sun,” Edgar Pierre Jacobs innovated with “The Secret of the Swordfish”, introducing Blake and Mortimer, future stars of the comic strip .

With the makings of a great cartoonist, the young P. Cuvelier created “Corentin Feldoë’s extraordinary odyssey.” Little known to the mainstream public, J. Laudy illustrated with poetry and romanticism, “The Legend of the Four Aymon Brothers.”

On September 26, 1946, “Tintin” magazine and its Dutch counterpart “Kuifje” appeared in kiosks and bookstores throughout Belgium. Several days later, nearly all of the 60,000 copies had been sold.

In April 1947, the weekly “Tintin” magazine became “the magazine for kids ages 7 to 77.”

In 1948, Raymond Leblanc convinced the young Parisian editor Georges Dargaud to co-edit a French version of the weekly magazine. For more then 350,000 French youths, reading “Tintin” magazine became a treasured weekly activity.

Raymond Leblanc speaks about it (2005 – FR) : La ligne claire

Business development

In 1950, the success of the magazine prompted Raymond Leblanc to begin publishing albums of the comic strips that had been popularized by the weekly magazine.

The first two volumes appearing under the Éditions du Lombard label were signed Edgar Pierre Jacobs (Blake and Mortimer – “Le Secret de l’Espadon” T.1) and Paul Cuvelier (“Les Extraordinaires Aventures de Corentin”). This initiative ushered in the publication of approximately 1,500 titles, of which more than 800 still account for the nearly ten large collections of the current catalog.

In December 1950, Raymond Leblanc decided to reward the magazine’s readers by creating loyalty points to save and collect, called “Timbres Tintin” (“Tintin Stamps”) ou “Kuifje’s bon.” These stamps appeared in the Belgian magazine in January 1951. French readers had to wait until 1952 for their version of the stamps, called “Chèques Tintin” (“Tintin Checks”) for legal reasons. In exchange for a given number of points, these coupons could be traded for various prizes (a genius idea): puzzles, portfolios, and also the

chromolitho books “Voir et Savoir” – illustrated by the Hergé Studios -, goose games, etc.

In light of this craze, food producers caught onto the concept of the “Tintin Stamps” by putting bonus stamps on their packaging. This unexpected success required the company to hire about twenty new employees to manage a department dedicated to the stamps. Approximately 200 million “Tintin Stamps” circulated each year in Belgium.

Raymond Leblanc understood the mutual interest in making readers loyal and found the means by which to make it successful for his business.

Still in 1950, having overflowed its 55 rue du Lombard location, the company expanded into a larger building located at number 24 of the same street, first on one level, and then on two levels in 1952. The first “Magasin Tintin” (“Tintin Store”) opened on the ground floor.

In 1953, les Éditions du Lombard published “Junior,” the children’s supplement of the review “Chez Nous.” Within its pages was born, among others, the series “Chick Bill” by Tibet.

toit-building-tintin-enseigne
The authors of the magazine on the roof of the building Tintin – 1966

Raymond Leblanc speaks about it (2005 – FR) : Le journal Tintin et Franquin

Publiart

Leblanc-dessicy
Guy Dessicy, head of Publiart and Raymond Leblanc.

In July 1954, Raymond Leblanc created the advertising agency “Publiart,” which he entrusted to the direction of Guy Dessicy.

For the first time in Belgium, an advertising company used comic strip characters. The agency had major clients, such as Côte d’Or and Coca-Cola. This agency later created the famous character of Walibi The Kangaroo, a popular Belgian amusement park.

Belvision

On December 11, 1954, the “Belvision” studios were born, which animate comic strip characters by hand for television. Later, the studios were equipped with a more sophisticated material and assembled a staff that was capable of producing short and full-length animated films for the big screen, like “Pinocchio in Outer Space”, a Belgian-American co-production, and even “Astérix the Gaul,” “Asterix and Cleopatra,”Tintin and the Temple of the Sun,” “Lucky Luke – Daisy Town,”

“Tintin and the Lake of Sharks,” “Gulliver’s Travels,” “The Smurfs and the Magic Flute,” etc. Belvision became one of the largest studios producing full-length films in Europe, as well as promotional films and documentaries starring comic strip characters from “Tintin” magazine. Created by rare European animation specialists, Belvision’s productions met worldwide success. They were called the “European Hollywood of animation.”

raymond-leblanc-vérifie-des-films-35mm

Raymond Leblanc speaks about it (2005 – FR) : Le Slogan du journal Tintin

On March 11, 1955, still associated with Georges Dargaud, Raymond Leblanc launched “Line,” a weekly magazine subtitled “the magazine for stylish girls.” as a version of “Tintin” magazine for female readers.

On September 13, 1958, thanks to the tremendous success of “Tintin” magazine and “Tintin Stamps,” Editions du Lombard, Publiart and Belvision, who employed some 100 people at the time, left Lombard Street for a new building designed by Raymond Leblanc on avenue P.-H. Spaak, near Gare du Midi. Paul-Henri Spaak, himself, officially inaugurated “his” Avenue and “Tintin Building.”

In 1962, after being well-known in Belgium, Raymond Leblanc, with Georges Dargaud, became the co-editor of the weekly magazine

“Pilote,” specially created by René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo and Jean-Michel Charlier.

In December 1963, bought out by Daniel Filipacchi, the weekly magazine “Line” gave up its place to “Mademoiselle Age Tendre,” a magazine for “young girls in the wind.” Lombard maintained the Belgian version of it.

When asked about the great success of his company and its ability to discover talent, Raymond Leblanc quotes the famous American phrase: “There are no successful businesses. There are only successful people.”

Clever businessman and visionary, Raymond Leblanc is unquestionably among those who, with Charles Dupuis, Casterman and Georges Dargaud, have contributed so much, such that the Comic Strip is now

recognized as the 9th Art.

At the end of 1986, Raymond Leblanc gave up Éditions du Lombard to the French-Belgian group Média-Participations, to whom he later entrusted its direction.

On November 29, 1988, the last issue of “Tintin” magazine went to press. “Kuifje”, the Dutch version, continued still until June 26, 1993.

In 2003, during the 30th International Comics Festival at Angoulême, the profession paid homage to Raymond Leblanc by awarding him the first honorary Alph-Art given to an editor.

The Honorary President of Éditions du Lombard, Raymond Leblanc regularly used to visit in the years 2000 his his office on the 8th floor of the famous building on avenue Paul-Henri Spaak, beneath the

famous giant sign featuring Tintin and Milou.

On September 26, 2006, Éditions du Lombard celebrated the 60th anniversary of its founding and the creation of “Tintin” magazine. For this occasion, various public displays were organized.

Meanwhile, the memoirs of Raymond Leblanc, composed by Jacques Pessis and titled: “Raymond Leblanc, Le Magicien de Nos Enfances – La Grande Aventure Du Journal Tintin” (“Raymond Leblanc, Magician of Our Childhood – The Great Adventure of Tintin Magazine”) have appeared with the Éditions de Fallois.

Raymond Leblanc passed away on the 21st of March 2008 at the age of 92.

dedicace dany

OUR PARTNERS

Le fondateur du Journal Tintin, des Éditions du Lombard, des studios Belvision et de l’agence Publiart

La jeunesse et la guerre

R

aymond Leblanc est né le 22 mai 1915 à Longlier, près de Neufchâteau, dans les Ardennes belges. Tout jeune, il entame une carrière au sein de l’Administration en tant que Vérificateur des Douanes. La Guerre 1940-45 va cependant changer le cours de son destin. Officier de réserve, il publie en 1942, un premier ouvrage consacré à la guerre, « Dés pipés – Journal d’un Chasseur Ardennais ». Parallèlement, il entre dans la Résistance.

Au lendemain de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Raymond Leblanc décide de se lancer dans les affaires. Il s’associe à deux amis tout aussi passionnés que lui par l’édition : André Sinave et Albert Debaty.

En décembre 1944, tous trois fondent une petite maison d’édition dénommée « Yes ». La jeune société, qui ne compte alors qu’une dizaine de collaborateurs, s’installe à Bruxelles où elle occupe trois locaux au n° 55 de la rue du Lombard, près de la célèbre Grand-Place. Cette adresse déterminera le nom d’une nouvelle société créée par la suite, dans les mêmes locaux : « Les Éditions du Lombard ». Dans ces premiers bureaux naissent deux périodiques : la collection « Cœur », sous-titrée « le roman d’amour du jeudi », une collection de romans d’amour complets, paraissant chaque semaine ou bien encore « Ciné-Sélection », un magazine d’actualité cinématographique.

raymond-leblanc-bureau
Dans son bureau 

Raymond Leblanc en parle (2005) : Willy Vandersteen

Le lancement du Journal Tintin

couv-tintin-1
Couverture du premier numéro du Journal Tintin, le 26 septembre 1946

En 1945, Raymond Leblanc tente, avec A. Sinave, A. Debaty et G. Lallemand, de convaincre Hergé de créer un périodique pour jeunes qui s’intitulerait journal  » Tintin « . Hergé accepte. Créé en 1929 et déjà popularisé par douze albums publiés aux Editions du Petit-Vingtième, puis Casterman, le « petit reporter » devient ainsi le héros titre d’un hebdomadaire de bandes dessinées de 12 pages.

Hergé, directeur artistique, complète l’équipe du journal « Tintin » avec trois amis : Edgard P. Jacobs, Jacques Laudy et Paul Cuvelier. Les quatre auteurs ont chacun leur talent et font preuve d’un dynamisme formidable.

Hergé poursuit minutieusement les aventures de Tintin et Milou avec « Le Temple du Soleil », Edgar Pierre Jacobs innove avec « Le Secret de l’Espadon », mettant pour la première fois en scène Blake et Mortimer, futur monument de la bande dessinée. Avec l’étoffe d’un grand

dessinateur, le jeune P. Cuvelier crée « L’extraordinaire Odyssée de Corentin Feldoë ». Peu connu du grand public, J. Laudy illustre avec poésie et romantisme, « La Légende des quatre Fils Aymon ».

Le 26 septembre 1946, le journal « Tintin » et son équivalent néerlandophone  » Kuifje  » font leur apparition dans les kiosques et les librairies de Belgique. Quelques jours plus tard, il ne reste pratiquement rien des 60.000 exemplaires mis en vente.

En avril 1947, l’hebdomadaire « Tintin » s’impose comme « le journal de tous les jeunes de 7 à 77 ans ».

En 1948, Raymond Leblanc persuade le jeune éditeur parisien Georges Dargaud de coéditer une version française de l’hebdomadaire. Pour plus de 350.000 jeunes Français, la lecture du journal « Tintin » deviendra chaque semaine un moment privilégié.

Raymond Leblanc en parle (2005) : La ligne claire

Le développement des activités

En 1950, le succès du journal incite Raymond Leblanc à se lancer dans l’édition d’albums de bandes dessinées popularisées par l’hebdomadaire.

Les deux premiers volumes parus sous le label des Éditions du Lombard sont signés Edgar Pierre Jacobs (Blake et Mortimer – « Le Secret de l’Espadon » T.1) et Paul Cuvelier (« Les Extraordinaires Aventures de Corentin »). L’initiative inaugurera l’édition d’environ 1.500 titres, dont plus de 800 constituent encore les quelques dix grandes collections du catalogue actuel.

En décembre 1950, Raymond Leblanc décide, par ailleurs, de récompenser les lecteurs du journal en créant des points de fidélité à découper, intitulés « Timbres Tintin » ou « Kuifje’s bon ». Ceux-ci apparaissent dans le journal belge en janvier 1951. Les lecteurs français devront attendre 1952 pour en découvrir les équivalents appelés « Chèques Tintin » pour des raisons légales. En échange d’un nombre donné de points, ces coupons permettent d’obtenir divers cadeaux hors commerce (ce sera l’idée de génie)

 : des puzzles, des portefeuilles, mais aussi des livres chromos  » Voir et Savoir » – illustrés par les Studios Hergé -, des jeux de l’oie, etc.

Devant l’engouement des lecteurs, des marques de produits alimentaires s’associent au concept du « Timbre Tintin » en les plaçant comme bonus sur leurs emballages. Ce succès inattendu oblige la société à engager une vingtaine de personnes supplémentaires pour gérer un département spécial. Environ 200 millions de « Timbres Tintin » circuleront chaque année en Belgique.

Raymond Leblanc comprend l’intérêt réciproque de la fidélisation des lecteurs et trouve le moyen de l’appliquer avec succès dans son entreprise.

Toujours en 1950, en pleine expansion et à l’étroit au n° 55 de la rue du Lombard, la société s’installe dans un immeuble plus vaste situé au n° 24 de la même rue, d’abord sur un, puis en 1952 sur deux niveaux. Au rez-de-chaussée, s’ouvre le premier « Magasin Tintin ».

En 1953, les Éditions du Lombard éditent « Junior », le supplément pour enfants de la revue « Chez Nous ». Dans ces pages naîtra, parmi d’autres, la série Chick Bill de Tibet.

toit-building-tintin-enseigne
Les auteurs du Journal sur le toit du building Tintin – 1966

Raymond Leblanc en parle (2005) : Le journal Tintin et Franquin

Publiart

Leblanc-dessicy
Guy Dessicy, directeur de Publiart et Raymond Leblanc.

En juillet 1954, Raymond Leblanc crée l’agence de publicité « Publiart », dont il confie la direction à Guy Dessicy.

Pour la première fois en Belgique, une société de publicité utilise des personnages de bandes dessinées. L’agence compte d’importants clients, comme Côte d’Or ou Coca-Cola. Cette agence créera, par la suite, la célèbre effigie du Kangourou de Walibi, parc d’attractions belge très fréquenté.

Belvision

Le 11 décembre 1954, naissent les studios « Belvision » qui animent, de manière très artisanale, au départ, des personnages de bandes dessinées pour la télévision. Par la suite, les studios s’équipent d’un matériel plus sophistiqué et forment un personnel capable de travailler à la réalisation de courts et de longs-métrages d’animation pour le grand écran, tels « Pinocchio dans l’Espace », une coproduction belgo-américaine, ou bien encore « Astérix le Gaulois , « Astérix et Cléopâtre », « Tintin et le Temple du Soleil », « Lucky Luke à Daisy Town »,

« Tintin et le Lac aux Requins », « Les Voyages de Gulliver », « La Flûte à six Schtroumpfs »… Belvision devient alors l’un des plus grands studios européens de réalisation de longs-métrages, mais aussi de films publicitaires et didactiques utilisant les personnages des bandes dessinés du journal « Tintin ». Réalisées par les rares spécialistes européens du dessin animé, les productions de Belvision connaîtront un succès mondial. On parlera même du « Hollywood européen du dessin animé ».

raymond-leblanc-vérifie-des-films-35mm

Raymond Leblanc en parle (2005) : Le Slogan du journal Tintin

Le 11 mars 1955, toujours associé à Georges Dargaud, Raymond Leblanc lance « Line », hebdomadaire sous-titré « le journal des chics filles », pendant féminin du périodique « Tintin ».

Le 13 septembre 1958, grâce à l’immense succès du journal « Tintin » et du « Timbre Tintin », les Editions du Lombard, Publiart et Belvision qui emploient alors quelque 100 personnes, quittent la rue du Lombard pour s’installer dans un tout nouvel immeuble construit à l’initiative de Raymond Leblanc, avenue P.-H. Spaak, près de la gare du Midi. Paul-Henri Spaak, lui-même, inaugure officiellement « son » Avenue et le « Building Tintin ».

En 1962, après l’avoir fait connaître en Belgique, Raymond Leblanc devient avec Georges Dargaud, le coéditeur de l’hebdomadaire « Pilote » créé, notamment, par

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo et Jean-Michel Charlier.

En décembre 1963, racheté par Daniel Filipacchi, l’hebdomadaire « Line » cède la place à « Mademoiselle Age Tendre », journal pour « jeunes filles dans le vent ». Le Lombard en assure la version belge.

Quand on l’interroge sur le prodigieux succès de son entreprise et sur ses capacités de découvreur de talents, Raymond Leblanc rappelle la fameuse devise américaine: « Il n’y a pas d’affaires à succès. Il n’y a que des hommes à succès ».

Homme d’affaires avisé et visionnaire, Raymond Leblanc est incontestablement un de ceux qui, avec Charles Dupuis, Casterman et Georges Dargaud ont le plus contribué à ce que la Bande Dessinée soit reconnue comme le 9e Art. Fin 1986, Raymond Leblanc

cède les Éditions du Lombard au groupe franco-belge Média-Participations, auquel il confie la direction un an plus tard. Le 29 novembre 1988, le dernier numéro du journal « Tintin » sort de presse. « Kuifje », la version néerlandophone, est toutefois maintenu jusqu’au 26 juin 1993.

En 2003, lors du 30e Festival international de la BD d’Angoulême, la profession rend hommage à Raymond Leblanc en lui décernant le premier Alph-Art d’honneur attribué à un éditeur.

Toujours Président d’Honneur des Éditions du Lombard, Raymond Leblanc se rendait encore régulièrement ces dernières années à son bureau situé au 8e étage du fameux bâtiment de l’avenue Paul-Henri Spaak, sous la célèbre enseigne géante à l’effigie de Tintin et Milou.

Avec maintenant Dargaud-Bénélux

et Kana, Le Lombard et Belvision occupent donc le même immeuble depuis près de 50 ans.

Désormais, cet immeuble qui vient d’être entièrement rénové abrite également la toute nouvelle Fondation Raymond Leblanc.

Le 26 septembre 2006, les Éditions du Lombard ont fêté le 60ème anniversaire de leur fondation et de la création du journal « Tintin ». A cette occasion, diverses manifestations ont été organisées.

Au même moment, les mémoires de Raymond Leblanc, rédigées par Jacques Pessis, sous le titre de : « Raymond Leblanc, Le Magicien de nos enfances – La Grande Aventure Du Journal Tintin » sont parues aux Éditions de Fallois.

Raymond Leblanc est décédé le 21 mars 2008 à l’âge de 92 ans.

dedicace dany

NOS PARTENAIRES